
Attending the Collecting Area on time for Races 

 

 

Tannoy and Mixlr will be used for the first call 6 to 8 minutes before the anticipated 

end of the race on circuit. 

The second call will be approximately 4 to 5 minutes before the end of the race on 

circuit. 

The final call will be around 1 to 2 minutes before the end of the race - this may 

coincide with the last lap flag. 

Close attention will be paid to make a judgement as to whether any of these calls 

should be delayed in view of recoveries required on circuit. Recoveries can often be 

made whilst grids are coming from the Collecting Area and forming up, so it maybe 

that no delays will be involved. 

A call will always be made to stop riders from attending the Collecting Area if an 

incident occurs on circuit that causes a red flag and requires medical or circuit 

vehicle interventions after any of the initial calls have been made. 

There will be occasions where circuit incidents take place after the final call has been 

made. By which time most/all riders are in the Collecting Area – riders should remain 

there. 

If the anticipated delay is upto 5 minutes then riders are assured that Race Control 

will run 2 x Warm-Up Laps on the short circuits, this will be advised by Collecting 

Area and Startline Crews to all riders. At long circuits like Snett 300 and Donington, 

2 warm-ups are not really required. 

The objective here is to try and avoid riders in the already called-up grid returning 

under their own steam back to the paddock…this can cause us significant delay and 

inconsistency when trying to return everyone back to the collecting area to get going 

again, if the delay is relatively short. 

If riders choose to ignore this request to remain in place, then Race Control may 

choose to call the next race in the programme. 

In the event of what looks like a serious accident or oil spillage and ongoing delay - 

the Clerk would then choose to send the called-up grid back to the paddock and we 

start the process again. 

 

Reserves & Latecomers 

There will be a separate holding pen at Collecting Out for reserves to go to once 

they are recorded arriving at Collecting In. 

When the Circuit is Clear…. 

When the circuit is clear the Clerk will call the grid from the Collecting Area to the 

circuit. 



After a period of one minute the Clerk will declare collecting area closed. This is the 

period that it takes to form up most grids at most circuits. (Cadwell takes longer) 

This will have the effect of closing the access to the circuit at the Collecting Out 

end of the Area. 

At the point that the Collecting Area is declared closed - the Collecting Out staff 

controlling access to circuit have the discretion to release any reserves. 

Any latecomers that arrive at Collecting In after it has been declared closed will be 

allowed through Collecting In but held at Collecting Out behind any reserves. 

Reserves that made the Collecting Area on time have the right to go to the grid in 

front of latecomers who arrive after the 1-minute period. The latecomer may also be 

released if there's still space on the grid and the time allows. If however, the warm-

up lap has started then latecomers will be held at Collecting Out until they can be 

released to join the back of the grid on the start. 

Latecomers do have the right to join a race, if grid capacity allows, once the race 

has started by proceeding down the pit lane, provided they are able to join the 

circuit before the completion of the first lap. Officials will advise and direct riders in 

these circumstances. 

Red Flag - Race Restart 

In the event of a Red Flag and the race returning to the grid for a re-start. 

Latecomers may present themselves at Collecting In to be included in the restart 

grid, if space now allows, they may join the race and can take their place on the 

grid. Reserves that were released for the first race start can stay out there; 

Latecomers can only join the grid in the re-run scenario if grid space allows 

including reserves already out there. 

The Latecomer will take their original grid position as the re-run is a new race, the 

first attempt being void. 


